Sovereign Award Finalists Revealed

The 2016 Sovereign Award Finalists have been announced by the Jockey Club of Canada. The awards recognize the top Canadian champions of 2016. All nominees except the 2016 Canadian Horse of the Year have been released.

The four Horse of the Year finalists will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony. Below is a list of all other award finalists:

Champion Two-Year-Old Filly:

  • Conquest Vivi
  • Ghostly Presence
  • Let It Ride Mom
  • Victory to Victory

Champion Two-Year-Old Male:

  • Channel Maker
  • Golden Hawk
  • King and His Court
  • Tiz a Slam

Champion Three-Year-Old Female:

  • Caren
  • Gamble’s Ghost
  • Neshama
  • Snuggles

Champion Three-Year-Old Male:

  • Amis Gizmo
  • Conquest Enforcer
  • Ready Intaglio
  • Sir Dudley Digges

Champion Older Female:

  • Goodyearforroses
  • Hot Kiss
  • Ice Festival
  • Midnight MIley

Champion Older Male:

  • Are You Kidding Me
  • Breaking Lucky
  • Killin Me Smalls
  • Melmich

Champion Female Turf Horse:

  • Caren
  • Goodyearforroses
  • Internal Bourbon
  • Lexie Lou

Champion Male Turf Horse:

  • Calgary Cat
  • Conquest Enforcer
  • Dimension
  • Glenville Gardens

Champion Female Sprinter:

  • Cactus Kris
  • Midnight Miley
  • River Maid
  • Southern Ring

Champion Male Sprinter:

  • Calgary Cat
  • Conquest Enforcer
  • Noholdingback Bear
  • Passion for Action

Outstanding Broodmare:

  • Cruising Kris
  • Galloping Ami
  • Keen Victory
  • Song of the Lark

Outstanding Breeder:

  • Adena Springs
  • Eugene Melnyk
  • Sam-Son Farm
  • Tall Oaks Farm

Outstanding Owner:

  • Gary Barber
  • Conquest Stables, LLC
  • Ivan Dalos
  • Sam-Son Farm

Outstanding Trainer:

  • Roger L. Attfield
  • Mark E. Casse
  • Michael P. De Paulo
  • Tracy, Greg

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey:

  • Jose Mariano Asencio
  • Aimee D. Auger
  • Daniel Gopie
  • Kayla Pizarro

Outstanding Jockey:

  • Luis Contreras
  • Eurico Rosa Da Silva
  • Rafael Manual Hernandez
  • Patrick Husbands

Be the first to comment on "Sovereign Award Finalists Revealed"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.